1. Travel

Local Tax Rates and Tax Offices in Raleigh-Durham

Property Tax Rates


Raleigh-Durham residents typically have to pay a variety of taxes to their local governments every year, and sometimes, it can be difficult to figure out what is owed and why.

It can also be frustrating that many counties and municipalities seem to bury their tax rate information deep in cyberspace. I've tried to help make your search for North Carolina local tax information easier by bringing that information to the surface so that it will be easier for individuals to find out exactly what tax rates their local governments are charging.

Here's a list of county tax offices and links to lists of local tax rates in the Triangle. If I've missed any, please let me know and I'll add them to the list.

If you'd like to compare your county's 2009 tax rates to those of other counties in North Carolina, look at this tax rate comparison chart created by the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners.

Chatham County

Chatham County Tax Administration Office

Chatham County Tax Rates

Pittsboro Finance Department Pittsboro's 2009 property tax rate is .43/$100, on top of Chatham County's current rate. (919) 542-4621

Siler City Finance Department
311 North Second Avenue Room 201 Siler City , NC 27344

Durham County

Durham County Tax Administrator's Office
200 East Main Street 1st Floor, Old Courthouse Durham, NC 27701

Durham County Tax Rates

City of Durham
For more information about Durham City Taxes, call Durham One Call at (919) 560-1200
City of Durham Tax Rates

Johnston County

Johnston County Tax Administration
Johnston County Tax Assessor
P.O. Box 368 Smithfield , NC 27577

Johnston County Tax Collector
P.O. Box 451 Smithfield , NC 27577

Johnston County's Tax Rates

Orange County

Orange County Assessor's Office
228 South Churton Street, Suite 200 P.O. Box 8181
Hillsborough , N.C. 27278
(919) 245-2100

Orange County, NC Tax Rates

This lists the total tax rates for all municipalities and districts in Orange County, including Chapel Hill, Carrboro and Hillsborough.

Wake County

Wake County Revenue Department
One Bank of America Plaza
421 Fayetteville St., Ste. 200
Raleigh , NC 27601

Wake County Tax Rates

This lists the tax rate for Wake County plus the additional municipal taxes that need to be added to the Wake County tax rate, if applicable. This chart does not include additional district taxes (i.e. fire districts) that may apply. Use this list to figure out your tax rate if you live in Wake County or its municipalities, including Angier, Apex, Cary , Clayton, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Holly Springs, Knightdale, Morrisville, Raleigh, Rolesville, Wake Forest, Wendell or Zebulon.

  1. About.com
  2. Travel
  3. Raleigh-Durham
  4. Local Government & History
  5. Local Tax Rates and Tax Offices in Raleigh-Durham - Property Tax Rates in in Raleigh-Durham >

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.